The Rebellion of Thanksgiving


Happy Thanksgiving!

Thanksgiving is a time of celebration, a time of counting blessings, a time of family, a time of REBELLION!

Rebellion – resistance to or defiance of any authority, control or tradition.

Sure, we have the tradition of thanksgiving, but we have a much stronger tradition and culture of defending our rights. We have a culture of entitlement. We have a very strong sense of what we “deserve”. Employees deserve certain things from their employer, employers deserve certain things from their employees. We deserve respect. We deserve to have a job. We deserve the products we want. We deserve free shipping. We deserve internet access. WE DESERVE TO BE HAPPY. We “deserve” a lot of things.

I saw an incredible/absurd/comical example of this the other day. I was researching whether or not you can run two YouTube channels from one Google profile. You can’t. In order to have FREE distribution of your videos to the WORLD (on two separate channels), you have to set up two FREE Google profiles. Well, obviously this is an OUTRAGE! As one commenter said (and I quote, emphasis mine) “We DESERVE to have multiple YouTube channels on one account”

You deserve that? Did you invent YouTube? On what possible grounds do you DESERVE that right?

Thanksgiving is the anti-thesis to claiming our rights. Thanksgiving is a recognition and appreciation that this life is a gift.

I am thankful for my family. I am thankful for clean air. I am thankful I get turkey dinner. I am thankful there is a God that loves me. Heck, I’m thankful for YouTube; I deserve none of it.

 

Vive La Revolution

About checkeredowl

Artist Management & Development + Video View all posts by checkeredowl

One response to “The Rebellion of Thanksgiving

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,080 other followers

